2 Comments

Surprise!

That’s right, I’m back and I’m going to see if I can get back into blogging on a more regular basis. A regular basis? Hah! Let’s see if I can start blogging again at all, especially considering it’s been a year and a half since I last wrote and even way back in 2010 my posting had dropped off significantly. I’m a blog reader, for sure, and I enjoy writing posts as well. It’s just hard sometimes to find the motivation and inspiration, but I’m determined to give it another go.

First things first, an update as life has changed pretty drastically since last I wrote:

Nacho and I are still living in Madrid (and don’t worry, even after 8ish years of expat life things still never cease to surprise me…), but it’s no longer just the two of us. We were lucky enough to have our first child, Sofia Ruth, last summer, and if I thought being an expat could be hard at times I had no idea what I was getting into as an expat mother. It’s no surprise that certain ideas and expectations are deeply ingrained in all of us, and, as an expat, I’m frequently confronted with the need to adjust those expectations a bit in order to maintain my sanity. I thought I had that pretty well assimilated, but it turns out that it’s one thing to change things for yourself but it’s something else entirely to see how those expectations and subsequent “adjustments” impact your child raising. I hope to write more about that side of being an expat in the coming months (no worries, I promise that any look-at-how-awesome-my-baby-is posts will remain over on my family blog) as well as just get back into writing about all the idiosyncracies that come with living abroad.

Let’s call this return to blogging my Spring Resolution.

Oh, yeah, and obviously I moved to wordpress. It’s much nicer here. I hope you stick around.

2 comments on “Surprise!

  1. So excited to see if you really will write on a semi-regular basis. Not as if you are busy or anything.
    🙂

  2. Hi Amy!
    I decided to check out your blog since you’ve commented on Pass the Ham recently. I’m so glad that you’ve decided to get back in the blogging game! It certainly can be a little frustrating at times, but I’m enjoying reading through your past posts, so keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

